The Winners of the Hariban Award 2021

 The Hariban Award, presented by Benrido, is pleased to announce the finalists of the 2021 Hariban Award International Collotype Photography Competition.

便利堂主催の国際コロタイプ写真コンペティション ハリバンアワード2021の結果を発表いたします。

Grand Prize Winner

Tarrah Krajnak

Master Rituals II: Weston’s Nudes

In “Master Rituals II: Weston’s Nudes” I re-enact Edward Weston’s iconic nude studies as both the photographer and subject. As a woman of color, the insertion of my body into the white modernist canon of mid-century “masters” becomes a way for me to reclaim and re-write male-dominated history while challenging white standards of beauty. My titles include the full names of the women who modeled for Weston– many of them his lovers at the time of the shoot. This naming is a way to make visible the ways in which women have been erased from the canonical history of photography, while at the very same time the “anonymous” use of our bodies remains visible. All photographs are 8×10 Silver Gelatin Prints from 4×5 film. 
ー Tarrah Krajnak
「巨匠の儀式 II:ウェストンのヌード」は、写真家エドワード・ウェストンの象徴的なヌード写真の研究として、写真家と被写体の両方において再現したシリーズです。20世紀中期における「巨匠」で白人のモダニスト写真家の作品に、有色人である私自身の身体を挿入することは、白人たちによるの美のスタンダードに挑むとともに、白人男性が支配する歴史を書き直し、さらには取り戻すことにつながるのではないかと考えました。このシリーズのタイトルには、ウェストンがモデルにした女性たちのフルネームを使っていますが、彼女たちのほとんどが撮影時のウェストンの恋人たちでした。その恋人たちの名前をタイトルにすることは、写真の歴史から消された女性たちを可視化するとともに、「誰でもない」女性の身体を可視化できると考えました。このシリーズはすべて4X5フィルムを使用し、8×10インチサイズ(六切り)の銀塩プリントで制作しています。


ー タラ・クライネック
Juror's Choice Award

Donavon Smallwood, for his submission Languor

ー Selected by Pauline Vermare

Juror's Choice Award

Andrea Orejarena & Caleb Stein, for their submission Long Time No See

ー Selected by Yasufumi Nakamori

Juror's Choice Award

Dustin Thierry, for his submission Opulence

ー Selected by Oluremi C. Onabanjo

Juror's Choice Award

Feiyi Wen, for her submission Wood, Water, Rock

ー Selected by Yanyou Yuan Di

Benrido award

Shahria Sharmin, for her submission Nur

ー Selected by Takumi Suzuki, CEO/Owner Benrido, Inc. 

Honourable Mentions

Ichiko Ageno, for her submission Trace

Matan Ashkenazy, for his submission Perverse Foregrounds

Dylan Hausthor, for their submission what the rain brought

Gideon Mendel, for his submission Merged

Ed Panar, for his submission Winter Nights, Walking

Aaron Schuman, for his submission Vale

Dominic Turner, for his submission False Friends

This year’s 13 finalists will have a selection of their work printed in collotype and published within the annual Hariban Award Catalogue. Congratulations to this year’s finalists, we look forward to sharing more soon!




©  the artists for the images

Read more