Title Image

The Winners of the Hariban Award 2016

We are very excited to introduce this year’s Hariban Award winners! It was a real pleasure looking at the amazing submissions we received from around the world. The quality of work we receive continues to raise the bar on what we’ve come to expect from the talented and creative artists who enter this competition. Please see the list of winners below:



Grand Prize Winner
Claudio Silvano

Statement by Takumi Suzuki, CEO Benrido


I couldn’t be more pleased with this year’s Hariban Award winner. We again received hundreds of stunning submissions from around the globe. I know how difficult it was for our judges to choose just one winner but it was an enjoyable process for them, getting to see the talent of our entrants. There was one submission that stood head and shoulders above the rest. Claudio Silvano’s winning portfolio is a testament to his creativity and artistic vision.


Claudio grew up in Brazil and recently moved to France and his photos reflect that feeling of displacement. His shots of nature contrast with those of urban scenery, perhaps tracing his own journey in life. Claudio has a rare eye for capturing the artistry of nature and I am looking forward to having him join us at Benrido in Kyoto to see what the collotype process can further bring out his vision. I hope you will follow along with Claudio as he begins his adventure in collotype, learns a new culture, and attends Kyotographie where he’ll see his winning prints on display.


代表取締役CEO 鈴木巧からのステートメント






© Claudio Silvano
Juror’s Choice Award

The jury awarded three photographers special recognition for their excellent work. These photographers will have their work published in the Collotype catalogue.


  • Claudio Nolasco
  • Mayumi Suzuki
  • Michael Vahrenwald
Master Printer’s Choice Award
  • Teri Havens

Honourable Mentions

Six additional photographers received honourable mentions.

  • Lea Habourdin
  • Maria Inglessis
  • Miho Kajioka
  • Natalia Kopkina
  • Maria do Mar Rego
  • Marie Passa
  • Joanna Piotrowska