Title Image

The Hariban Award 2017 – Shortlist

It’s that time of year again! We’re thrilled to announce the shortlist for HARIBAN AWARD 2017. We received an incredible 439 submissions from all over the globe! Our judges had the difficult task of paring down a truly impressive array of work, but they’re confident that they’ve selected the submissions that will benefit most from a relationship with Benrido and the collotype process. Check out the shortlist below.


2017 Shortlist

渡部 さとる, 榮爾 寺東, 平野 , 山本 , 瀬野 , 小平 篤乃生, 藪本 絹美, 藤本康介, まゆみ, 飯田 信雄, 高崎恵, Axel Antas, Naoki Aosaki, Matan Ashkenazy, Chase Barnes, Roni Ben Ari, Marco Benedetti, Stephen Best, Alex Boyd, Albarran Cabrera, Robert Calafiore, Xiaoyi Chen, David Christensen, Josephine Coy, Paul Cupido, Rob R. de Jong, John Einarsen, David Ellingsen, AJ Emmen, David Falco, Flore Flore, Clive Frost, Zeng Ge, Dan Gemkow, Stephen Gill, Jon Gorospe, Peter Granser, Michel Guerrero, Camden Hardy, Leslie Hickey, Tao Ho, Joshua Hobson, Corine Hörmann, Andy Hughes, Tomoko Iki, Foster Juyujin, Akira Kawahata, Jesse Koechling, Michal Korta, Mariya Kozhanova, Maria Laet, Sara Lamens, Philip LePage, Chiawen Lin, Thomas Mailaender, David Maisel, Edgar Martins, Lesia Maruschak, Christine Mathieu, Sebastian Mejia, Flora Merillon, Roman Meyer, Noritaka Minami, Ieuan Morris, Miriam Hinman Nielsen, Elio Nudelman, Kazuma Obara, Andreas Olesen, Roosmarijn Pallandt, Laura Pannack, Leo Pellegatta, Jean-Philippe Pernot, Leticia Ramos, Christof Rehm, Georgina Reskala, Bruno Roels, Miriam Ruisseau, Kent Rush, Eva Saukane, Maurice & Liesbeth Scheltens & Abbenes, Claire Seidl, Ronen Sharabani, Takeshi Shikama, Liu Shukui, Hans Silvius, Zénon Sophie, Carly Steinbrunn, Thomas Stoeckli, Sayako Sugawara, Krista Svalbonas, Paul Taylor, Esther Teichmann, Gabriela Torres Ruiz, Dominic Turner, Michael Vahrenwald, Wouter Van de Voorde, Chris Vanden Broeke, Naohiko Wada, Li Wei, Dianna Wells, Feiyi Wen, Daniel Will, Graeme Williams, Cameron Williamson, Dave Woody, Herman Wouters, Joseph Wright, Tsutomu Yamagata, Zhishu Yang, HanShun Zhou, Ayelet Zohar. (Alphabetical order and Japanese names at the beginning)


Statement by Tristan Lund


Selecting the shortlist for the HARIBAN AWARD 2017 has been a privilege and a task I undertook extremely seriously. I would like to thank all the entrants, those at the beginning of their careers for the bravery to show their work to an unknown audience and to those more established striving to push their practice to a new level.


This is a unique award with a prize that is a genuine collaboration with highly skilled craftspeople, it is an incredible opportunity for the right kind of artist. I approached the shortlisting process with this in mind by looking for:


A sense that each artist had carefully considered why they were entering such a specific award.

Individual images that I thought would look great as collotypes.

Original, consistent projects ranging in style and content.


I am delighted with the list of 111 finalists and think we have a fantastic group of artists from which to select a winner, I am very excited about the next stage.




HARIBAN AWARDの審査の第一次審査に関われることはとても光栄なことですし、私自身も真剣に取り組みました。これからキャリアを築いていく若手の写真家、そしてある程度キャリアを積んで、新しいレベルに作品を引き上げようとする写真家を含め今年参加した皆さんにお礼を申し上げます。


HARIBAN AWARDは熟練の職人とコラボができるというとても稀なアワードで、その可能性を引き出せる写真家にはすばらしいチャンスになるでしょう。審査にあたり、以下の点を考慮しました:








The final award winners will be selected from this pool of photographers and their names will be announced in late-August. This year’s panel of jurors is made up of Michael Famighetti, Tristan Lund, Thyago Nogueira, and Rong Rong & Inri, all highly esteemed members of the global photography community. Want to receive the latest updates? Sign up for the HARIBAN AWARD newsletter.


以上の中から、受賞者の方々が選ばれ、最終結果は8月末に発表となります。今年の審査員は、写真界で国際的に評価の高いキュレーターのマイケル・ファミゲッティ、トリスタン・ランド、チアゴ・ノゲイラ、榮榮 (ロンロン) & 映里 (インリ)となっています。今後のHARIBAN AWARDからの最新情報を入手していただくために、ぜひ、ニュースレターにサインアップしてください。